Class 4-Virtual Class Meeting

Response to Got Poetry? PPT:

I like Alice Schertle’s comparison of a poet to a photographer in her quote. Poems create a mental picture for their readers if the “right ” words are chosen. I think the list of questions that Ann Lauterbach has referenced for poetry would be beneficial to use with 4th graders when reading  poetry. They require them to think at a higher level about the poem. Susan Wooldrige’s quote, “It’s impossible to teach anyone to write a poem.” explains why I have been frustrated with my students and myself. It’s all about immersion and exposure.

A toolbox every poet needs: pen, pencil, keyboard, notebook, computer, dictionary, thesaurus, space to write, effective, sequential assignments (like the poetry stems). 

I love Kennedy’s advice … “imitate until eventually…you sound like yourself.”

Paper clip observations(SAID Strategy):

When I look at this object,  what do I see? tangled shiny metal

Smell? a metallic odor

Hear? when I drop it, it clangs on a hard surface

Taste? metallic…reminds me of a new filling in my tooth

Touch? rigid and cool

What does the object do? binds things together, organizes and groups related materials

What could you do with it? pick a lock, scratch the inside of your ear, reset a timer or stop watch, make a chain, hold a loose hem in a garment, as a bookmark, as a bobby pin

Where and when do you find it? in school, an office, a desk, a dorm room, in cups, in tote bags, in cardboard boxes, at an office supply store

When you think of it, what people, animals, places, actions, or ideas pop in your head? my assistant because she is so organized, school, a magnet because they are attracted to them, a snail curled up, a race track

How or why is it special? its unique design allows it to connect things together, inexpensive organizational tool

Other Link Responses:

Sharon Creech’s website is neat and updated. I enjoyed perusing her blog.

Joyce Sidman’s Poem Starters are fantastic! I am looking forward to experimenting with them. She has taken a lot of time to help teachers help students.

The Writing Fix would be a neat smartboard activity to practice constructing apologies.

I am amazed at all the resources you have listed for poetry. I am anxious to share them with my grade level and my curriculum coordinator.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Beth Frye said,

    Oh you’ve got it Crystal: immersion and imitation are places to start. Then, those students will find their own voice after they have tried on the hats of some of their favorite poets. After all, most great musicians are “inspired” by other great musicians, right? They just refer to them as their “influences.” Well, writing is like that too and we need to let kids in on our little secret! ☺


Comment RSS

Leave a comment